Skip to main content

Canadiens' Price wins Vezina Trophy in near-unanimous vote by GMs @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price was a near-unanimous choice as the Vezina Trophy winner on Wednesday.

Price, who also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the players' choice for the most outstanding player, picked up 27 of 30 first-place votes from the NHL's general managers.

Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators finished second and Devan Dubnyk of the Minnesota Wild third.

Rinne, Dubnyk and the New York Rangers' Henrik Lundqvist each picked up a first-place vote.

Price was by far the biggest reason the Canadiens finished first in the Atlantic Division.

The 27-year-old went 44-16-6 with a league-best 1.96 goals-against average and .933 save percentage.

Price finished just behind Marc-Andre Fleury of the Pittsburgh Penguins for the lead in shutouts, as he recorded nine in 66 games.

More coming.


Follow @SWhyno on Twitter

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.