Skip to main content

Canada sets World Junior Championship roster

by Staff

Canada trimmed its roster by four players and finalized its roster for the 2015 IIHF World Junior championship Friday.

The final four players cut from the team were forwards Rourke Chartier (San Jose Sharks), Jason Dickinson (Dallas Stars) and Michael Dal Colle (New York Islanders), and defenseman Haydn Fleury (Carolina Hurricanes).

The final roster decisions were made after Canada lost to Russia 2-1 in overtime in an exhibition at Air Canada Centre on Friday.

"They're all good players," Canada coach Benoit Groulx said, according to Yahoo Sports. "To be honest it was a tough decision for us tonight; many tough decisions. It came down to who fits where and who has more experience, speed and the balance we look for in terms of speed, skill, size and strength."
The final 22-player roster includes 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders.

Among those making the final roster are two top prospects for the 2015 NHL Draft, forwards Connor McDavid and Lawson Crouse.

The roster includes 11 players picked in the first round of the NHL draft: defensemen Darnell Nurse (Edmonton Oilers), Shea Theodore (Anaheim Ducks), Samuel Morin (Philadelphia Flyers) and Joshua Morrissey (Winnipeg Jets); and forwards Curtis Lazar (Ottawa Senators), Max Domi (Arizona Coyotes), Sam Reinhart (Buffalo Sabres), Nick Ritchie (Anaheim Ducks), Frederik Gauthier (Toronto Maple Leafs), Robby Fabbri (St. Louis Blues) and Jake Virtanen (Vancouver Canucks).

Also making the team was defenseman Joe Hicketts, an undrafted free agent who signed with the Detroit Red Wings on Sept. 24. He has 38 points in 30 games with the Victoria Royals of the Western Hockey League.

Canada has two pretournament games remaining, against Sweden on Sunday at Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa, and against Switzerland on Dec. 23 at Bell Centre in Montreal.

Canada opens WJC play Dec. 26 against Slovakia at Bell Centre.


GOALTENDERS: Eric Comrie, Tri-City, WHL (Winnipeg Jets); Zachary Fucale, Halifax, QMJHL (Montreal Canadiens)

DEFENSEMEN: Madison Bowey, Kelowna, WHL (Washington Capitals); Dillon Heatherington, Swift Current, WHL (Columbus Blue Jackets); Joe Hicketts, Victoria, WHL (Detroit Red Wings); Samuel Morin, Rimouski, QMJHL (Philadelphia Flyers); Joshua Morrissey, Kelowna, WHL (Winnipeg Jets); Darnell Nurse, Sault Ste. Marie, OHL (Edmonton Oilers), Shea Theodore, Seattle, WHL (Anaheim Ducks)

FORWARDS: Lawson Crouse, Kingston, OHL (2015 draft eligible); Max Domi, London, OHL (Arizona Coyotes); Anthony Duclair, New York Rangers; Robby Fabbri, Guelph, OHL (St. Louis Blues); Frederik Gauthier, Rimouski, QMJHL (Toronto Maple Leafs); Curtis Lazar, Ottawa Senators; Connor McDavid, Erie, OHL (2015 draft eligible); Nicholas Paul, North Bay, OHL (Ottawa Senators); Nicolas Petan, Portland, WHL (Winnipeg Jets); Brayden Point, Moose Jaw, WHL (Tampa Bay Lightning); Sam Reinhart, Kootenay, WHL (Buffalo Sabres); Nick Ritchie, Peterborough, OHL (Anaheim Ducks); Jake Virtanen, Calgary, WHL (Vancouver Canucks)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.