Skip to main content

Canada East picks roster for Junior 'A' Challenge

by Adam Kimelman

Canada East Roster

GOALIES -- Adrian Ignagni, St. Michael's (OJHL); Jason Pucciarelli, Newmarket (OJHL)

DEFENSEMEN -- Randy Gazzola, Trenton (OJHL); Paul Geiger, Stouffville, (OJHL); Phil Hampton, Oakville (OJHL); Ben Hutton, Kemptville (CCHL); Kevin Lough, Cumberland (CCHL); Mackenzie Weegar, Nepean (CCHL); Aidan Wright, Kingston (OJHL)

FORWARDS -- Drake Caggiula, Stouffville (OJHL); Justin Danforth, Cobourg (OJHL); Jeff DiNallo, Newmarket (OJHL); Kyle Dutra, Toronto Lakeshore (OJHL); David Friedmann, Toronto (OJHL); Daniel Leavens, Newmarket, (OJHL); Patrick Megannety, Georgetown (OJHL); Daniel Milne, St. Michael's (OJHL); Michael Neville, St. Michael's (OJHL); Braedan Russell, Oakville (OJHL); Devin Shore, Whitby (OJHL); Tylor Spink, Cornwall (CCHL); Tyson Spink, Cornwall (CCHL)
A pair of centers from the Ontario Junior Hockey League highlights the roster Canada East will send to the 2011 World Junior 'A' Challenge, to be held Nov. 7-13 in Langley, B.C.

"All 34 players at (selection) camp battled hard, fought for their spots and left us with some tough decisions," said coach Curtis Hodgins, who also coaches Whitby of the OJHL. "As a coaching staff, we are confident we have selected the 22 players who give us the best chance at improving on last year's silver-medal finish."

Among the key players is David Friedmann, who plays for the Toronto Junior Canadiens. The 5-foot-9, 180-pound forward has a team-leading 10 goals and 21 points in 12 games.

Joining him on the roster is Devin Shore of the Whitby Fury. A 6-foot, 184-pound forward, Shore leads his team in goals (9), assists (11) and points (20) in 14 games.

The pool of players eligible for the team come from five junior 'A' leagues in Ontario, Quebec and the Canadian Maritimes, but the 22 players picked all come from either the Ontario Junior Hockey League or the Central Canada Hockey League. All are eligible for the 2012 NHL Draft.

Canada East will play in Group B at the tournament, joined by the Czech Republic and Russia, while Canada West, Sweden and the United States will comprise Group A. Preliminary round play runs from Nov. 7-9, with the semifinals set for Nov. 11 and the gold-medal game on Nov. 13.

Contact Adam Kimelman at Follow him on Twitter: @NHLAdamK
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.