Skip to main content

Cam Neely leads 2010 Lester Patrick Trophy recipients @NHLdotcom
Hockey Hall of Famer Cam Neely, college coaching legends Jack Parker and Jerry York and AHL President David Andrews have been named recipients of the 2010 Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The award, one of the most prestigious in hockey, was presented to the NHL by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach and general manager and was a pioneer in the sport's development.
The recipients will be honored at a reception in Boston in late October.

One of the greatest power forwards in NHL history, Neely also is one of the most revered Boston Bruins of all time. Though it was cut short by injury, his career was prolific – he scored 395 goals with 299 assists and 1,241 penalty minutes in 726 regular-season games and 57 more goals in 93 playoff games. He scored 50 goals in a season three times -- including in 1993-94, when he reached the milestone in just his 44th game, faster than anyone other than Wayne Gretzky.
Neely won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy in 1994, has had his No. 8 retired by the Bruins and was voted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2005. Two years later, he joined the Bruins' front office as vice president and was named team president June 16.

Parker is a Boston University institution. He played on Terriers teams that won three straight Beanpot Tournaments (1966-68) and reached the NCAA semifinals in 1966 and '67. The Somerville, Mass., native captained the 1967-68 team.

He became coach of his alma mater in 1973 and has been a resounding success ever since. Parker coached BU to three national championships (1978, 1995 and 2009) and been named the Spencer Penrose Division I Coach of the Year three times. He is one of only three coaches in NCAA history, along with Ron Mason and York, to have won 800 games -- and the only one to have done it at one school.

As he enters his 38th season as BU's coach, Parker has compiled a record of 836-432-104 while coaching a bevy of stars -- including Mike Eruzione, Jim Craig, Keith Tkachuk, Tony Amonte, Chris Drury and Rick DiPietro.

York has been a rival of Parker's since the two battled as Massachusetts high school stars. York was a prolific scorer for Boston College from 1964-65 through 1966-67, piling up 64 goals and up 134 points in 81 games while being named a first-team All-American as a senior. He is the second-winningest coach in NCAA history -- his 850 career victories are second only to Mason's 924 -- a four-time NCAA champion and one of only two men to have coached two schools (Bowling Green and Boston College) to national championships.

After seven years at Clarkson College and 15 at Bowling Green, where he won the 1984 NCAA title, York returned to his alma mater in 1994. He has since built Boston College into a perennial power, winning seven Hockey East tournament titles and three national championships -- including the 2010 title. He has coached three Hobey Baker Award winners (George McPhee, Brian Holzinger and Mike Mottau) as well as Rob Blake, Dan Bylsma, Brooks Orpik and Rob Scuderi.

Andrews, an accomplished goaltender who starred for Dalhousie University and the University of British Columbia and played professionally in the Netherlands, has been the president of the American Hockey League since 1994, guiding the AHL through a period of explosive growth.

Under his direction, the AHL has expanded to include 30 teams and stretch across North America while becoming the sole primary development league for the NHL. Andrews was instrumental in restoring the AHL All-Star Classic in 1995, after a 35-year absence, and the event now is televised internationally. A native of Nova Scotia who now resides in Wilbraham, Mass., Andrews has been inducted into the British Columbia Hockey Hall of Fame (2005) and the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame (2006).
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.