Skip to main content

Cale Morris added to U.S. Junior Select Team

by Staff

Chicago Steel goaltender Cale Morris was the final member chosen for the United States Junior Select Team that will compete in the 2014 World Junior A Challenge in Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Dec. 14-20.

The U.S. has won five of the past six tournaments with the exception of 2011, when it won a bronze medal. Canada West defeated Canada East in the 2011 gold medal match.

Morris, a native of Larkspur, Colo., is in his second season in the United States Hockey League. He is 5-3-1 with a 3.07 goals-against average and .907 save percentage. The 18-year-old has won each of his past four starts, and four of his five victories this season have come on the road. Morris, who is eligible for the 2015 NHL Draft, last season was one of the youngest goalies in the USHL and finished 13-5-1 with a 2.93 GAA, three shutouts and a .910 save percentage for the Steel.

All the players chosen for the U.S. Junior Select Team currently compete in the USHL, the only Tier I junior hockey league in the U.S.

Four players on the roster were selected in the 2014 NHL Draft in Philadelphia: forwards Dakota Joshua (Toronto Maple Leafs, No. 128), Shane Gersich (Washington Capitals, No. 134) and Anthony Angello (Pittsburgh Penguins, No. 145), and goaltender Hayden Hawkey (Montreal Canadiens, No. 177).

The United States have won 26 of the 31 games they have played in the event. The tournament will feature teams from the U.S., Denmark, Russia, Switzerland and two from Canada, Canada East and West. Denmark is competing in the tournament for the first time.

Sioux City Musketeers coach and director of hockey operations Jay Varady will serve as head coach of the U.S. Junior Select Team.

2014 U.S. Junior Select Team roster

Goalie: Hayden Hawkey, Omaha (Montreal Canadiens); Cale Morris, Chicago (2015 draft eligible).

Defense: Mitch Reinke, Cedar Rapids (2015 eligible); Ryan Zuhlsdorf, Sioux City (2015 eligible); Blake Hillman, Dubuque (2015 eligible); Neal Pionk, Sioux City (2015 eligible); Charles Curti, Cedar Rapids (2015 eligible); Bobby Nardella, Tri-City (2015 eligible); Hayden Shaw, Waterloo (2015 eligible).

Forwards: Dylan Gambrell, Dubuque (2015 eligible); Seamus Malone, Dubuque (2015 eligible); Andrew Oglevie, Cedar Rapids (2015 eligible); Brock Boeser, Waterloo (2015 eligible); Dakota Joshua, Sioux Falls (Toronto Maple Leafs); Thomas Novak, Waterloo (2015 eligible); Shane Gersich, Omaha (Washington Capitals); Anthony Angello, Omaha (Pittsburgh Penguins); Kyle Connor, Youngstown (2015 eligible); Joe Snively, Sioux City (2015 eligible); Adam Gaudette, Cedar Rapids (2015 eligible); Robby Jackson, Chicago (2015 eligible); Tyler Sheehy, Waterloo (2015 eligible).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.