Skip to main content

Bylsma, Trotz, Vigneault are Adams Award finalists @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK (AP) - Pittsburgh's Dan Bylsma, Nashville's Barry Trotz and Vancouver's Alain Vigneault are finalists for the Jack Adams Award given to the NHL's coach of the year, the league said Friday.

Vigneault led the Canucks to their best regular season, capturing the Presidents' Trophy as the league's top club with 117 points (54-19-9). He is a third-time Adams finalist, capturing the award with Vancouver in 2007 and finishing second with the Montreal Canadiens in 2000.

Bylsma, a first-time finalist, helped the Penguins (49-25-8) gain home-ice advantage in the opening round of the playoffs for the third consecutive season. Pittsburgh overcame the prolonged absences of star centers Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin to earn the second-most points (106) and victories (49) in franchise history.

Trotz guided the Predators (44-27-11) to the playoffs for the sixth time in the past seven seasons. He is an Adams nominee for the second consecutive season, finishing runner-up to Dave Tippett of the Phoenix Coyotes in 2010.

The trio were chosen in voting by members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association. The winner will be announced at the NHL awards ceremony June 22 in Las Vegas.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.