Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: BUF @ SJS - 17:03 of the Second Period

Call on the ice is overturned - Goal Buffalo @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: BUF vs. SJS

Situation Room: No-goal call on Sabres overturned

Video review determines Casey Mittelstadt's stick was below the crossbar, resulting in a good goal for the Sabres

  • 03:09 •

Type of Review: High-Sticking the Puck

Result: Call on the ice is overturned - Goal Buffalo

Explanation: After initially signaling a goal, the on-ice officials huddled and changed their call to no goal. Video review then determined that Casey Mittelstadt's stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the San Jose net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed".

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.