Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: BOS @ CAR - 2:57 of Second Period

Original call stands - good goal Hurricanes @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: BOS vs. CAR

Situation Room: Aho's goal stands after challenge

The Bruins challenge Sebastian Aho's goal due to potential goaltender interference, but after review, the call stands as a good goal

  • 03:47 •

At 2:57 of the second period in the Bruins/Hurricanes game, Boston requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Carolina's Sebastian Aho interfered with goaltender Zane McIntyre prior to Carolina's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of the Boston player caused Aho to contact McIntyre before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Carolina Hurricanes. 

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Boston Bruins forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.