Skip to main content

Brodeur, Lecavalier posts gains among Eastern Conference vote-getters in XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, presented by 2K Sports @NHLdotcom
NEW YORKNew Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur and Tampa Bay Lightning center Vincent Lecavalier have posted gains among Eastern Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  Brodeur has claimed the top spot among Eastern Conference goaltenders with 149,067 votes, passing previous frontrunner Cristobal Huet (137,418) of the Montreal Canadiens.  Lecavalier‘s 168,792 votes are good for second place among forwards, behind overall leader Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (381,941).  More than 9.2 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Crosby, Lecavalier and Ottawa Senators right wing Daniel Alfredsson (168,782) are the top vote-getters among forwards in the Eastern Conference.  Huet’s teammate Andrei Markov (247,246) and Zdeno Chara (197,042) of the Boston Bruins are the leading defensemen.  Brodeur is the top netminder in the East.

Updated balloting results for the Western Conference will be announced tomorrow.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and 

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Eastern Conference

(as of 12/17/07)


Player                                    NHL Club               Votes
Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh 381,941
Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay 168,782
Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa 168,448
Daniel Briere Philadelphia 142,097
Alex Ovechkin Washington 127,844
Ilya Kovalchuk Atlanta 125,939
Dany Heatley Ottawa 96,818
Saku Koivu Montreal 93,435
Maxim Afinogenov Buffalo 80,693
Chris Drury NY Rangers 66,840
Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh 63,779
Mats Sundin Toronto 59,929
*Alex Kovalev Montreal 56,954
Jaromir Jagr NY Rangers 54,600
Jason Blake Toronto 53,946
Simon Gagne Philadelphia 47,736
Jason Spezza Ottawa 43,582
Thomas Vanek Buffalo 42,754
Marian Hossa Atlanta 41,910
*Mike Richards Philadelphia 41,182
Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay 35,009
Patrik Elias New Jersey 33,445
Brendan Shanahan NY Rangers 32,309
Eric Staal Carolina 27,593
Vyacheslav Kozlov Atlanta 27,349
Marc Savard Boston 21,507
Bill Guerin NY Islanders 19,918
Olli Jokinen Florida 18,991
Scott Gomez NY Rangers 18,012
Justin Williams Carolina 16,792
Brian Gionta New Jersey 13,734
*Nik Antropov Toronto 11,094
Brad Richards Tampa Bay 10,940

Andrei Markov Montreal 247,246
Zdeno Chara Boston 197,042
Brian Campbell Buffalo 150,129
Tomas Kaberle Toronto 144,277
Kimmo Timonen Philadelphia 116,374
Wade Redden Ottawa 110,377
Ryan Whitney Pittsburgh 104,737
Jay Bouwmeester Florida 101,722
Bryan McCabe Toronto 82,790
Dan Boyle Tampa Bay 78,326
Chris Phillips Ottawa 76,863
Henrik Tallinder Buffalo 64,418

Martin Brodeur New Jersey 149,067
Cristobal Huet Montreal 137,418
Henrik Lundqvist NY Rangers 133,185
Martin Biron Philadelphia 94,717
Ryan Miller Buffalo 65,026
Rick DiPietro NY Islanders 42,079
Ray Emery Ottawa 41,281
Cam Ward Carolina 34,507
Olaf Kolzig Washington 24,819
Tomas Vokoun Florida 19,863

*write-in candidate

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.