Skip to main content


Brandon Wheat Kings chosen to host 2010 Memorial Cup @NHL

CALGARY - The Brandon Wheat Kings will host the 2010 Memorial Cup.

The Wheat Kings were chosen ahead of two other cities, Kelowna, B.C. and Everett, Wash., which bid for the Canadian Hockey League championship tournament, the Western Hockey League announced Wednesday. The Wheat Kings will have an automatic berth in the four-team event as the host club.

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League hosts the 2009 Memorial Cup, which will be held May 15-24 in Rimouski, Que.

The Wheat Kings joined the WHL in 1967 and have yet to win a Memorial Cup in three appearances: Montreal (1979), Kamloops (1995) and Peterborough (1996).

View More