Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Braden Holtby wins Vezina Trophy

Capitals goaltender tied NHL record with 48 wins @NHLdotcom

Holtby wins Vezina Trophy

Braden Holtby is awarded the Vezina Trophy

Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby is presented with the Vezina Trophy as the League's top goaltender at the 2016 NHL Awards

  • 01:36 •

Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals won the Vezina Trophy as the League's top goaltender at the 2016 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday. 

Holtby tied an NHL record with 48 wins and helped the Capitals win the Presidents' Trophy as the team with the most points (120) during the regular season.

Holtby, 26, was 48-9-7 with a 2.20 goals-against average, .922 save percentage and three shutouts in 66 games this season including a stretch of 22 straight decisions without a regulation loss (22-0-2).

Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings and Ben Bishop of the Tampa Bay Lightning were the other finalists.

Video: Braden Holtby Reacts to winning Vezina

2015-2016 Vezina Trophy Voting // Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)

1.   Braden Holtby, WSH   140   (26-3-1)

2.   Ben Bishop, TBL       51   (2-12-5)

3.   Jonathan Quick, LAK   36   (1-8-7)

4.   Roberto Luongo, FLA   14   (0-3-5)

5.   Corey Crawford, CHI   10   (1-1-2)

6.   Cory Schneider, NJD   10   (0-1-7)

7.   John Gibson, ANA   3   (0-1-0)

8.    Martin Jones, SJS   3   (0-1-0)

9.   Brian Elliott, STL   3   (0-0-3)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.