Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: BOS @ DAL - 16:28 of the First Period @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: BOS vs. DAL

Situation Room: Sharp's goal stands in the 1st

2/20/16: Patrick Sharp scores a goal as a defender knocks the net off, and after review, the call stands as a good goal

  • 01:27 •

At 16:28 of the first period in the Bruins/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to examine whether the puck crossed the Boston goal line before the net was displaced. The referee informed the Situation Room that if the puck entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts, a goal would be awarded. Video review confirmed that this indeed was the case, therefore a goal was awarded in accordance with Rule 63.6: "In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, prior to the puck crossing the normal positions of the goal posts, the referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal." Good goal Dallas. 

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.