Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: BOS @ CAR - 4:16 of the Third Period

Original call stands - no goal Bruins @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: BOS vs. CAR

Situation Room: No goal for DeBrusk stands in 3rd

The Bruins challenge the no-goal call on the ice, and after video review, the call is confirmed due to goaltender interference by Jake DeBrusk

  • 00:40 •

At 4:16 of the third period in the Bruins/Hurricanes game, Boston requested a Coach's Challenge to review the "Interference on the Goalkeeper" decision that resulted in a "no goal" call.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referees, the Situation Room confirmed that the actions of Bruins forward Jake DeBrusk impaired Hurricanes goaltender Curtis McElhinney's ability to play his position in the crease. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a "GOAL" call on the ice is that the NHL Situation Room (which shall include a former referee in the Officiating Department in the decision-making process), after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Referee who made the original call, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

Therefore, the original call stands - no goal Boston Bruins.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Boston Bruins forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.