Skip to Main Content
Greatest Moments

Lemieux, Orr reach Greatest Moment final

Penguins center's unique five-goal night faces Bruins defenseman's iconic Stanley Cup winner; voting runs through Nov. 28 @NHLdotcom

Bobby Orr and Mario Lemieux are two of the best hockey players of all time, but only one of them can own the Greatest NHL Moment.

Orr, the legendary Boston Bruins defenseman, and Lemieux, the dynamic center for the Pittsburgh Penguins, are the last two standing after five weeks of fan voting in the Greatest NHL Moments Presented by Coors Light and Pepsi Zero Sugar.


Vote now for the Greatest NHL Moment!


Orr's iconic overtime goal that won the Stanley Cup on May 10, 1970, is up against Lemieux scoring five goals in five different ways on Dec. 31, 1988.

The original bracket of 64 moments was determined by a blue-ribbon panel consisting of broadcasters from NHL national rightsholders NBC Sports Group, NHL Network, Sportsnet and TVA Sports. Five weeks of fan voting has cut the field to two.

Lemieux reached the final round by defeating Wayne Gretzky scoring 50 goals in the first 39 games of the 1980-81 season in one semifinal. His road to the final also included defeating the Stastny brothers each scoring eight points in a game in the first round, Gretzky scoring his NHL-record 802nd goal in the second round, the New York Islanders winning their fourth straight Stanley Cup championship in the third round and Darryl Sittler's 10-point game in the fourth round.

Video: Greatest NHL Moments: Lemieux vs. Orr

Orr defeated Teemu Selanne breaking the rookie single-season goal-scoring record in 1992-93 in the semifinal round. His road to the final included defeating Mud Bruneteau's winning goal in the sixth overtime of a 1936 playoff game in the first round, Steve Yzerman's double-overtime goal in Game 7 of the 1996 Western Conference Final in the second round, Joe Sakic handing the Stanley Cup to Ray Bourque after the Colorado Avalanche's Game 7 victory in 2001 in the third round and Gordie Howe becoming the first NHL player with 1,000 points in the fourth round.

To vote on the final matchup, fans can visit They can join the conversation using the hashtag #NHLGreatestMoments. Final-round voting ends on Nov. 28. The fans' choice for the Greatest NHL Moment will be announced during the 2017 Scotiabank NHL100 Classic between the Montreal Canadiens and Ottawa Senators at Lansdowne Park in Ottawa on Dec. 16 (7 p.m. ET; NBCSN, CBC, TVA Sports, NHL.TV).

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.