Skip to Main Content
Short Shifts

Blues don't touch Clarence S. Campbell Bowl after Game 6 win

Western Conference champions follow Bruins, stay away from trophy

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

Blues win Western Conference

SJS@STL, Gm6: Blues receive Clarence S. Campbell Bowl

WCF, Gm6: Alex Pietrangelo and the Blues receive the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl after their 5-1 victory to clinch the Western Conference title

  • 01:50 •

ST. LOUIS -- The Western Conference Champion St. Louis Blues weren't about to celebrate with the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl on Tuesday.

They seem to be holding out for the Stanley Cup.

Blues captain Alex Pietrangelo, who was awarded the Campbell Bowl by NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly following a 5-1 win against the San Jose Sharks at Enterprise Center in Game 6, and his teammates took a picture with it but did not touch it.

Tweet from @StLouisBlues: Ladies and gentlemen, the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.(don't worry, they didn't touch it.)

In the past 14 seasons (since 2006-07) only the Vegas Golden Knights touched the bowl in 2018. They lost in five games to the Washington Capitals, who famously handled the Prince of Wales Trophy after winning the Eastern Conference. Alex Ovechkin even made it a centerpiece in his home.

Blues forward David Perron, who played for the Golden Knights last season, was in favor of Pietrangelo's decision to not touch the trophy.

"I experienced it last year so it's a very similar feeling...I was just glad to see Petro didn't touch that trophy because we touched it last year and it didn't work so hopefully it changes something this year," Perron said.

In the Stanley Cup Final, which will begin on Monday, the Blues will face the Boston Bruins, who opted to leave the Prince of Wales Trophy alone after completing a sweep of the Carolina Hurricanes on Thursday.

Prior to the Golden Knights, the Nashville Predators (2017) and Sharks (2016) each did not touch the bowl and lost in the Stanley Cup Final.

That followed four straight years of the Western Conference winner not touching the bowl and winning the Cup (the Los Angeles Kings in 2012 and 2014 and the Chicago Blackhawks in 2013 and 2015).

St. Louis won the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl in 1968-69 and 1969-70 when it was awarded to the West Division regular season champion. It switched to the Western Conference playoff winner in 1993.


Listen: Stanley Cup Final preview from NHL Fantasy on Ice podcast

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.