Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CHI @ SJS - 11:41 of Second Period

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal San Jose Sharks.

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CHI vs. SJS

Situation Room: Marleau's goal is overturned

Patrick Marleau backhands the puck into the net, but after review, it is determined that the Sharks were offside and it is deemed no goal

  • 03:12 •

At 11:41 of the second period in the Blackhawks/Sharks game, Chicago requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether San Jose was off-side prior to Patrick Marleau's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that San Jose's Mikkel Boedker was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal San Jose Sharks. 

The clock is re-set to show 8:24 (11:36 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Chicago Blackhawks retain their time-out. 

View More