Skip to Main Content
Masterton Trophy

Masterton Trophy nominations announced

Lehner, Thornton among those up for award for perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication @NHLdotcom

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded annually by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey.

A player from each team is nominated by the local chapter. Those nominations are being revealed Thursday. The list will be narrowed to three finalists and a winner will be named at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas in June.

Below is a list of the nominees:

Anaheim Ducks: Patrick Eaves, F

Arizona Coyotes: Michael Grabner, F

Boston Bruins: Zdeno Chara, D

Buffalo Sabres: Jason Pominville, F

Calgary Flames: Mark Giordano, D

Carolina Hurricanes: Curtis McElhinney, G

Chicago Blackhawks: Corey Crawford, G

Colorado Avalanche: Carl Soderberg, D

Columbus Blue Jackets: Nick Foligno, F

Dallas Stars: Taylor Fedun, D

Detroit Red Wings: Niklas Kronwall, D

Edmonton Oilers: Andrej Sekera, D

Florida Panthers: Derek MacKenzie, F

Los Angeles Kings: Jack Campbell, G

Minnesota Wild: Ryan Suter, D

Montreal Canadiens: Andrew Shaw, F

Nashville Predators: Rocco Grimaldi, F

New Jersey Devils: Cory Schneider, G

New York Islanders: Robin Lehner, G

New York Rangers: Brendan Smith, D

Ottawa Senators: Jean-Gabriel Pageau, F

Philadelphia Flyers: Brian Elliott, G

Pittsburgh Penguins: Matt Cullen, F

St. Louis Blues: Jay Bouwmeester, D

San Jose Sharks: Joe Thornton, F

Tampa Bay Lightning: Ryan Callahan, F

Toronto Maple Leafs: Tyler Ennis, F

Vancouver Canucks: Jacob Markstrom, G

Vegas Golden Knights: Ryan Carpenter, F

Washington Capitals: Brooks Orpik, D

Winnipeg Jets: Dmitry Kulikov, D

View More