Skip to Main Content

BIG MOMENTS - 2009 NHL Awards Show @NHLdotcom
After months and months of hard work, the stars of the National Hockey League were able to kick back, relax and enjoy some time in Las Vegas.

With plenty of surprises and first-time winners at the 2009 NHL Awards Show, we ask you the fan to participate in voting for the best Big Moment of the night.

Vote now on the night's best Big Moment and check back later for final results.

Thanks to all who voted -- and enjoy the 2009 offseason!

2009 NHL Awards Show

A) Konstantinov's presentation - After six successful seasons as an exceptional defenseman for the Detroit Red Wings, Vladimir Konstantinov's NHL career came to an end in a tragic limousine accident.

Thursday at the NHL Awards Show, Konstantinov came out to the stage to present the Lester B. Pearson Award for the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the League with longtime teammate and countryman Igor Larionov. As Konstantinov courageously made his way to the podium, the crowd gave him a standing ovation.

It was a special moment, and after the ovation, Konstantinov announced that fellow Russian Alexander Ovechkin took home the award.

B) Gerry Dee provides comic relief - When Canadian comedian Gerry Dee was handed a microphone for an in-between segment at the Awards Show, the audience didn't know what to expect, and neither did the interviewees.

From jabbing Patrick Kane for not being nominated for an award this year to messing around with former greats Mark Messier, Stan Mikita and Pat LaFontaine, former Last Comic Standing competitor Dee gave everyone something to laugh about in Las Vegas.

C) More laughs from Kevin Smith - Kevin Smith, an American screenwriter, director, actor and comic book writer, provided some more laughs at the Awards Show.

Unable to attend the Awards Show in Las Vegas, Smith was filmed for a short segment to address the Vegas. A diehard New Jersey Devils fan also known for his often salty way of expressing himself, Smith's tongue-in-cheek presentation gave the audience more to laugh about in a night filled with special moments.

D) Alex and Geno - Rivals Alexander Ovechkin and Evgeni Malkin took the stage to accept the Maurice Richard Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy, respectively, then put on their own comedy act.

A openly nervous Malkin spoke first, apologizing for the quality of his English.

Ovechkin grabbed the mic and proceeded to send the Palms into laughter, noting that Malkin's English was better than that of Pavel Datsyuk, who earlier accepted the Lady Byng and Selke trophies.

E) Ovie wins Hart - In the most anticipated award of the night, Sergei Fedorov and Michael Bublé came up to present the Hart Memorial Trophy. And for the second consecutive year, Alex Ovechkin took home the award for the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

Throughout the night, Ovechkin continued to give congratulations to fellow nominees Pavel Datsyuk and Evgeni Malkin. Ovechkin showed class in his acceptance speech and he walked away with three awards on the night, the Lester B. Pearson Award, the Maurice Richard Trophy and finally the Hart Memorial Trophy.

View More