Skip to main content
Hart Memorial Trophy

Benn, Crosby, Kane finalists for Hart Trophy

Award to be presented June 22

by @NHL

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby will have a chance to win the Hart Trophy for a third time.

Crosby, Dallas Stars forward Jamie Benn and Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane were named Saturday as finalists for the Hart, which is awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team."

The winner will be named during the 2016 NHL Awards at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 22.

Crosby was third in the League with 85 points in 80 games, including a League-best 58 points in 44 games after Jan. 1. He had at least one point in 20 of his final 21 games and was the only player in the League with multiple point streaks of at least 10 games: He had points in 11 straight between Jan. 12 and Feb. 8, and 12 straight between Feb. 29 and March 20. He also had goals in seven straight games between Jan. 21 and Feb. 8, the longest streak of the season.

He previously won the Hart in 2007 and 2014. Crosby can become the ninth player to win it three times.

Video: Hart Trophy Finalists Announced

Benn played all 82 games, and was second in the League with 89 points and third with 41 goals, both personal NHL bests. He helped the Stars win their first division title since 2005-06, and finish with the best record in the Western Conference for the first time since 2002-03. He's the first Stars player with 40 goals since Mike Modano in 1993-94.

He's the first Stars player to be a Hart Trophy finalist. Benn also is a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award.

Kane had a League-leading 106 points to become the first United States-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy. He was second in the League with 46 goals and helped the Blackhawks make the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the eighth straight season. His 26-game point streak between Oct. 17 and Dec. 13 set a Blackhawks record, was the longest by a U.S.-born player and the longest by any player since 1992-93.

He's Chicago's first Hart Trophy finalist since goaltender Ed Belfour in 1991. No Blackhawks player has won the award since Stan Mikita in 1968.

Kane also is a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.