Skip to main content

BC routs Wisconsin for third NCAA title in 10 years

by John Kreiser
Boston College won its third NCAA championship in the last 10 years, blowing open a close game with four third-period goals for a 5-0 victory over Wisconsin on Saturday night before a record crowd of 37,592 fans at Detroit's Ford Field.

It's the third year in a row that a team from Boston has won the championship. BC won in 2008 and archrival Boston University defeated Miami of Ohio in the title game last year. The victory also provideda measure of revenge for the Eagles, who lost 2-1 to Wisconsin in the 2006 championship game. BC's three titles in the last 10 years are the most by any team.

Cam Atkinson had two of the four third-period goals and goaltender John Muse stopped all 19 shots he faced to improve to 8-0 in NCAA tournament play.

BC's special teams were just that. The Eagles connected twice on five power plays while killing all three of the Badgers' advantages.

Ben Smith, named the tournament's outstanding player, opened the scoring at 12:57 of the first period with his 16th goal of the season on the power play. Steven Whitney fed Smith in the slot, and he fired a shot through traffic that went inside the left post for a 1-0 lead.

BC outshot the Badgers 12-5 in the first period, but Wisconsin had the better of play in the scoreless second period. Carl Sneep dove to deflect Michael Davies' wide-open shot near the right post midway through the period, and Davies had the puck bounce off his stick on a breakaway with less than six minutes to play.

The Eagles then put the game away early in the third. Atkinson scored at 1:38 on a bad-angle shot that beat goaltender Scott Gudmandson inside the far post. Chris Kreider redirected home a centering pass from Jimmy Hayes at 3:40 to give the Eagles a 3-0 lead.

Atkinson got his second of the night at 7:20, breaking down the left wing and firing a low shot through the five-hole on Gudmandson for a power-play goal. BC captain Matt Price hit the empty net with 4:31 remaining to clinch the title.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.