Skip to main content

ARI @ TOR - 11:21 of the First Period @NHLdotcom

At 11:21 of the first period in the Arizona Coyotes/Toronto Maple Leafs game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Toronto net. The referee inside the Toronto zone originally signaled a goal but after the four on-ice officials huddled, the call on the ice was changed to "no goal" because Coyotes forward Martin Hanzal deflected the puck with a high stick. Video review supported the final on-ice call in accordance with Rule 60.5 which states, "an apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No goal Arizona.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.