Skip to main content

Ducks to honor Kariya, Selanne

Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2017 inductees will be recognized before game against Panthers on Nov. 19 @NHLdotcom

Paul Kariya and Teemu Selanne will be honored by the Anaheim Ducks following their Nov. 13 induction into the Hockey Hall of Fame, prior to the game against the Florida Panthers at Honda Center on Nov. 19.

"Paul and I are honored that the Ducks will host this special night at Honda Center," Selanne said. "I'm also very happy that several local charities will benefit from this event. We're looking forward to sharing this night with our fans."

Kariya and Selanne will appear together on Honda Center ice for the first time since they combined for three goals (two by Kariya) in the Ducks' 4-0 win against the Los Angeles Kings on March 4, 2001. The duo totaled 783 points in 308 games with Anaheim.

Elected to the Hall of Fame in his fifth year of eligibility, Kariya was the first pick (No. 4) in Anaheim franchise history at the 1993 NHL Draft. He was a three-time First All-Star Team selection, and finished his NHL career with 989 points (402 goals, 587 assists) in 989 games with the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, Colorado Avalanche, Nashville Predators and St. Louis Blues.

Selanne was elected in his first year of eligibility after he had 1,457 points (684 goals, 773 assists) in 1,451 games over 21 NHL seasons with the Ducks, Winnipeg Jets, San Jose Sharks and Colorado Avalanche. He scored 76 goals as a rookie with the Jets and won the Stanley Cup with the Ducks in 2007.

Kariya and Selanne headline the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2017. Former NHL players Mark Recchi and Dave Andreychuk, retired Canadian women's ice hockey player Danielle Goyette, Boston Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs and college hockey coach Clare Drake will also be inducted.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.