Skip to main content

Alaska Aces win ECHL championship @NHLdotcom

The Alaska Aces won the third ECHL title in their 11-year history by beating the host Cincinnati Cyclones 4-0 Monday in Game 6 of the Kelly Cup Finals.

Nick Mazzolini scored the game's first goal and assisted on another to back a 23-save performance by goaltender Gerard Coleman. The Aces' power play connected twice after a four-game drought.

The Aces, an affiliate of the Calgary Flames, have won four straight regular-season championships and became the third team in ECHL history with three postseason titles, joining the South Carolina Stingrays and Hampton Roads Admirals. The Cyclones, who have affiliations with the Florida Panthers and Nashville Predators, were trying for their third Kelly Cup.

Mazzolini opened the scoring with a power-play goal at 19:37 of the first period and set up one by defenseman Drew Mackenzie at 17:09 of the second, giving him a playoff-high 31 points in 21 games. Alex Belzile made it 3-0 with 4:51 to play before Turner Elson hit the empty net with 3:01 remaining.

Alaska dominated play for most of the night, outshooting Cincinnati 45-23. Cyclones goaltender Rob Madore stopped 41 of 44 shots.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.