Skip to main content

AHL announces division realignment for 2015-16 @NHL

The American Hockey League on Tuesday approved division realignment that will be in effect for the 2015-16 season.

There will be two divisions in each conference. In the Eastern Conference, the Atlantic Division will have eight teams and the North Division seven teams. In the Western Conference, the Central Division will have eight teams and the Pacific Division seven.

The AHL had three five-team divisions in each conference for the 2014-15 season.

Here are the new divisions:

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)

Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)

Hershey Bears (WSH)

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI)

Portland Pirates (FLA)

Providence Bruins (BOS)

Springfield Falcons (ARI)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

North Division

Albany Devils (NJD)

Binghamton Senators (OTT)

Rochester Americans (BUF)

*St. John’s IceCaps (MTL)

Syracuse Crunch (TBL)

Toronto Marlies (TOR)

Utica Comets (VAN)

Western Conference

Central Division

Charlotte Checkers (CAR)

Chicago Wolves (STL)

Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)

Iowa Wild (MIN)

Lake Erie Monsters (CBJ)

*Manitoba Moose (WPG)

Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)

Rockford IceHogs (CHI)

Pacific Division

*Bakersfield Condors (EDM)

*Ontario Reign (LAK)

San Antonio Rampage (COL)

*San Diego Gulls (ANA)

*San Jose Barracuda (SJS)

*Stockton Heat (CGY)

Texas Stars (DAL)

* - Denotes franchise that relocated for the 2015-16 season

View More