Skip to main content

AHL announces 2016 Hall of Fame class @NHLdotcom

Bruce Cline, Ralph Keller, Jean-Francois Labbe and Bruce Landon were announced as the American Hockey League Hall of Fame class of 2016.

The honorees will be enshrined Feb. 1, 2016, in Syracuse, N.Y., at the 2016 AHL All-Star Classic.

"The foundation of the American Hockey League has been formed by the outstanding achievements and contributions of those who have excelled here over the last eight decades," AHL president David Andrews said. "The AHL Board of Governors is proud to unanimously approve the Selection Committee's recommendation for the induction of these four individuals into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame."

Cline won the Calder Cup four times in 13 AHL seasons. He was the 1956 AHL rookie of the year and scored at least 20 goals eight times.

Keller played parts of 13 seasons in the AHL, mostly with the Hershey Bears, who have retired his No. 3. Keller is fourth among AHL defensemen with 446 points, and is one of two AHL defensemen with at least 100 goals (111).

Labbe won the Calder Cup twice and was the league's top goaltender and MVP in 1996-97. His 27 shutouts are eighth in AHL history, and his 202 wins rank 12th. His 46 playoff wins are tied for second.

Landon helped Springfield win the Calder Cup as a goalie in 1971, and was the GM of Springfield when they won back-to-back Calder Cups in 1990 and 1991.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.