Skip to main content

6 NHL teams to open 2010-11 season in Europe @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK (AP) -Six NHL teams will open the 2010-11 season in Europe, the fourth straight year the league will begin play overseas.

The NHL announced Tuesday that the Boston Bruins, Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Minnesota Wild, Phoenix Coyotes and San Jose Sharks will combine to play a total of six games in Europe at the start of next season.

The Hurricanes and Wild will meet in a pair of games in Helsinki on Oct. 7-8; Columbus plays San Jose in Stockholm on Oct. 8-9; and the Bruins and Coyotes face off in Prague on Oct. 9-10.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman says he is pleased the league is sending more teams to Europe to begin the season. The clubs involved feature several players from the countries they will visit.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.