Skip to main content


free agency

44 NHL players file for salary arbitration

Golden Knights center Karlsson on list; hearings scheduled to run through Aug. 4 @NHL

William Karlsson of the Vegas Golden Knights headed a list of NHL restricted free agents who filed for salary arbitration July 5.

The 25-year-old center had NHL career highs in goals (43), assists (35) and points (78) in 82 games last season. He finished third in the NHL in goals behind Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin (49) and Winnipeg Jets forward Patrik Laine (44).

Notable players who filed include Calgary Flames center Elias Lindholm (signed July 16); Minnesota Wild defenseman Matt Dumba (agreed to terms July 21) and forward Jason Zucker (agreed to terms July 25); New York Islanders center Brock Nelson  (agreed to terms July 23); New York Rangers defenseman Brady Skjei (agreed to terms July 28) and forwards Kevin Hayes (agreed to terms July 30), Ryan Spooner (agreed to terms July 31) and Jimmy Vesey (agreed to terms July 17); and Ottawa Senators forward Mark Stone  (signed Aug. 3).

Salary arbitration hearings will be held from July 20-Aug. 4; players can sign a contract with their current team any time before an arbitrator's ruling.

Last year, 30 restricted free agents filed for arbitration. Vegas Golden Knights defenseman Nate Schmidt was the only player to have his salary determined by an arbitrator. Nashville Predators forward Viktor Arvidsson and Detroit Red Wings forward Tomas Tatar each had a hearing but signed before the arbitrator's ruling; the other 27 each came to an agreement before his scheduled hearing.

Here is the list of players who filed for salary arbitration with the date of their hearing in parentheses:

Anaheim Ducks: Brandon Montour (signed)

Calgary Flames: Garnet Hathaway (signed), Mark Jankowski (signed), Brett Kulak (awarded contract), Elias Lindholm (signed), David Rittich (signed)

Carolina Hurricanes: Trevor van Riemsdyk (signed)

Colorado Avalanche: Patrik Nemeth (signed), Matt Nieto (signed)

Dallas Stars: Mattias Janmark (signed), Devin Shore (signed), Gemel Smith (signed)

Florida Panthers: MacKenzie Weegar (agreed to terms)

Minnesota Wild: Matt Dumba (agreed to terms), Jason Zucker (agreed to terms)

Montreal Canadiens: Joel Armia (agreed to terms), Phillip Danault (agreed to terms)

Nashville Predators: Miikka Salomaki (signed)

New Jersey Devils: Blake Coleman (agreed to terms), Stefan Noesen (agreed to terms)

New York Islanders: Brock Nelson (agreed to terms)

New York Rangers: Kevin Hayes (agreed to terms), Brady Skjei (agreed to terms), Ryan Spooner (agreed to terms), Jimmy Vesey (agreed to terms)

Ottawa Senators: Cody Ceci (awarded contract), Mark Stone (signed)

Philadelphia Flyers: Taylor Leier (signed), Alex Lyon (agreed to terms)

Pittsburgh Penguins: Jamie Oleksiak (signed)

San Jose Sharks: Chris Tierney (signed)

St. Louis Blues: Joel Edmundson (agreed to terms), Dmitrij Jaskin (agreed to terms), Oskar Sundqvist (agreed to terms)

Vancouver Canucks: Troy Stecher (signed)

Vegas Golden Knights: William Karlsson (Aug. 4), Colin Miller (signed), Tomas Nosek (signed)

Washington Capitals: Liam O'Brien (signed)

Winnipeg Jets: Marko Dano (agreed to terms), Connor Hellebuyck (agreed to terms), Adam Lowry (agreed to terms), Brandon Tanev (agreed to terms), Jacob Trouba (awarded contract)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.