Skip to Main Content
Masterton Trophy

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy nominations announced

Dumba, Stamkos, Chara among those up for award for perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication @NHLdotcom

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded annually by the Professional Hockey Writers Association to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey.

A player from each team is nominated by the local chapter. Those nominations were revealed Monday. The list will be narrowed to three finalists and the winner will be named at a later date.

Below is a list of the nominees for the 2020-21 season:

Anaheim Ducks: David Backes, F 

Arizona Coyotes: Phil Kessel, F

Boston Bruins: Kevan Miller, D

Buffalo Sabres: Dustin Tokarski, G

Calgary Flames: Milan Lucic, F

Carolina Hurricanes: Jordan Staal, F

Colorado Avalanche: Valeri Nichushkin, F

Columbus Blue Jackets: Zac Dalpe, F

Chicago Blackhawks: Andrew Shaw, F

Dallas Stars: Roope Hintz, F  

Detroit Red Wings: Danny DeKeyser, D

Edmonton Oilers: Mike Smith, G

Florida Panthers: Chris Driedger, G

Los Angeles Kings: Matt Roy, D

Minnesota Wild: Matt Dumba, D

Montreal Canadiens: Corey Perry, F

Nashville Predators: Pekka Rinne, G 

New Jersey Devils: Scott Wedgewood, G

New York Islanders: Casey Cizikas, F

New York Rangers: Colin Blackwell, F

Ottawa Senators: Nick Paul, F

Philadelphia Flyers: Oskar Lindblom, F

Pittsburgh Penguins: Casey DeSmith, G

St. Louis Blues: Vladimir Tarasenko, F

San Jose Sharks: Patrick Marleau, F 

Tampa Bay Lightning: Steven Stamkos, F

Toronto Maple Leafs: Jack Campbell, G

Vancouver Canucks: Tyler Motte, F

Vegas Golden Knights: Marc-Andre Fleury, G

Washington Capitals: Zdeno Chara, D

Winnipeg Jets: Eric Comrie, G

View More