Skip to Main Content

NHL reveals All-Star Game rosters

Kucherov, Hedman, Vasilevskiy join Lightning captain Stamkos among players named @NHLdotcom

The Tampa Bay Lightning will be well-represented in their home rink for the 2018 Honda NHL All-Star Game at Amalie Arena on Jan. 28. (3:30 p.m. ET, NBC, CBC, SN, TVA Sports).

Forward Nikita Kucherov, defenseman Victor Hedman and goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy were named to the Atlantic Division All-Star Team by the NHL Hockey Operations Department on Wednesday, joining center Steven Stamkos, who was voted by fans as captain of the Atlantic team. Lightning coach John Cooper will coach the Atlantic Division All-Stars.


[RELATED: Complete All-Star Game rosters]


It's the second straight season Kucherov, who leads the NHL in points (60) and is tied for first in goals (27), and Hedman, who leads the League at plus-24, were selected for the All-Star Game. It will be the first All-Star appearance for Vasilevskiy, who has a League-leading 27 wins. It's the fifth selection for Stamkos, who has 52 points (17 goals, 35 assists). The Lightning (31-9-3) lead the NHL with 65 points.

The four members of the League-leading Lightning is the most for any team. The Los Angeles Kings have three players on the Pacific Division team, forward Anze Kopitar, defenseman Drew Doughty and goaltender Jonathan Quick. Eight other teams had multiple players picked for the game, including two from the Vegas Golden Knights on the Pacific, forward James Neal and goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury.

There are 12 players that will be skating in their first All-Star Game, among them Vancouver Canucks forward Brock Boeser, who leads NHL rookies with 22 goals and 40 points. 

Seven of the top eight in scoring in the League were seletced: Kucherov, Stamkos, Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon (52 points), Philadelphia Flyers forward Claude Giroux (52), Winnipeg Jets forward Blake Wheeler (52), and New York Islanders forwards John Tavares (51) and Josh Bailey (50). The only player in that group not chosen was Philadelphia Flyers forward Jakub Voracek (51 points).

Last season's Stanley Cup finalists, the Pittsburgh Penguins and Nashville Predators, each have two representatives: Penguins forward Sidney Crosby and defenseman Kris Letang for the Metropolitan Division, and defenseman P.K. Subban and goaltender Pekka Rinne for the Central Division.

For the third straight season, the All-Star Game will feature a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, showcasing teams from each division competing for a $1 million winner-take-all prize pool.

Arizona Coyotes defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, who played in his first All-Star Game in 2015, said he's looking foward to play in the 3-on-3 format, which was introduced in 2016.

"I'm super excited," he said. "It's going to be a little bit different. It's 3-on-3 this time. I'm a couple of years older too, so it's going to be a lot of fun."

Minnesota Wild forward Eric Staal was named an All-Star for the fifth time, but got his first selection since 2011. 

"It's an honor. I'm excited to have the chance and to enjoy the experience with my family, my kids, my wife," Staal tweeted.   

Stamkos (Atlantic), Ovechkin (Metropolitan), Subban (Central) and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (Pacific) are the fan-voted captains.

Ovechkin, who is tied with Kucherov for the League lead in goals, and Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks, were each selected for the seventh time, the most among the chosen players.

The 2018 NHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place on Jan. 27 (7:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN, CBC, SN, TVA Sports), one day before the game.

Here are the full rosters:


Atlantic Division (All-Star appearance)

F Aleksander Barkov, FLA (1st)
F Jack Eichel, BUF (1st)
F Nikita Kucherov, TBL (2nd)
F Brad Marchand, BOS (2nd)
F Auston Matthews, TOR (2nd)
F Steven Stamkos, TBL* (5th)
D Mike Green, DET (2nd)
D Victor Hedman, TBL (2nd)
D Erik Karlsson, OTT (5th)
G Carey Price, MTL (6th)
G Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL (1st)
Head Coach: Jon Cooper, TBL (1st)

Video: Discussing the All-Stars from the Atlantic Division


Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearance)

F Josh Bailey, NYI (1st)
F Sidney Crosby, PIT (3rd)
F Claude Giroux, PHI (5th)
F Taylor Hall, NJD (3rd)
F Alex Ovechkin, WSH* (7th)
F John Tavares, NYI (5th)
D Noah Hanifin, CAR (1st)
D Seth Jones, CBJ (2nd)
D Kris Letang, PIT (4th)
G Braden Holtby, WSH (3rd)
G Henrik Lundqvist, NYR (4th)
Head Coach: Barry Trotz, WSH (3rd)

Video: The crew takes a look at the Metro Division All-Stars


Central Division (All-Star appearance)

F Patrick Kane, CHI (7th)
F Nathan MacKinnon, COL (2nd)
F Brayden Schenn, STL (1st)
F Tyler Seguin, DAL (5th)
F Eric Staal, MIN (5th)
F Blake Wheeler, WPG (1st)
D John Klingberg, DAL (1st)
D Alex Pietrangelo, STL (1st)
D P.K. Subban, NSH* (3rd)
G Connor Hellebuyck, WPG (1st)
G Pekka Rinne, NSH (2nd)
Head Coach: Peter Laviolette, NSH (3rd)

Video: A closer look at the Central Division All-Star Roster


Pacific Division (All-Star appearance)

F Brock Boeser, VAN (1st)
F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (4th)
F Anze Kopitar, LAK (4th)
F Connor McDavid, EDM* (2nd)
F James Neal, VGK (3rd)
F Rickard Rakell, ANA (1st)
D Brent Burns, SJS (5th)
D Drew Doughty, LAK (4th)
D Oliver Ekman-Larsson, ARI (2nd)
G Marc-Andre Fleury, VGK (3rd)
G Jonathan Quick, LAK (3rd)
Head Coach: Gerard Gallant, VGK (2nd)

* Fan-elected captain

Video: Looking over the Pacific Division All-Star roster

View More