Skip to main content

2015 NHL Draft first-round selection order now set

by Staff

The conclusion of the Stanley Cup Final also helped finalize the order to the first round of the 2015 NHL Draft to be held June 26-27 at BB&T Center in Sunrise, Fla.

After the NHL Draft Lottery set the order for the first 14 picks, the end of the Stanley Cup Playoffs established the next 16 selections.

The order is determined in two parts. First are non-division winners eliminated in the first two rounds placed in inverse order of regular-season standings. Then come division winners who lost in the first two rounds in inverse order of regular-season point totals.

The Edmonton Oilers, who won the draft lottery and will pick No. 1, also have the No. 16 pick, which they acquired from the Pittsburgh Penguins in a trade for forward David Perron.

The Buffalo Sabres have the No. 2 pick and also No. 21, which was acquired last season from the New York Islanders as part of the Thomas Vanek trade.

The Toronto Maple Leafs will pick No. 4 and No. 24, a selection they acquired from the Nashville Predators as part of the trade for defenseman Cody Franson and forward Mike Santorelli.

The Winnipeg Jets have the 17th pick and also own the 25th pick, which originally belonged to the St. Louis Blues. The Sabres had acquired the pick as part of the Ryan Miller trade last season, and then sent it this season to the Jets as part of the package to acquire forward Evander Kane.

The 27th and 28th picks went to the Anaheim Ducks and Tampa Bay Lightning, respectively. The Ducks lost to the Chicago Blackhawks in the Western Conference Final. The Lightning acquired that pick from the New York Rangers through the Martin St. Louis/Ryan Callahan trade last season.

The 29th and 30th picks were made official when the Blackhawks defeated the Lightning on Monday in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final to win their third championship in six seasons. The Philadelphia Flyers own Tampa Bay's No. 29 selection by way of the Braydon Coburn trade. The Arizona Coyotes own the Blackhawks' No. 30 pick through the Antoine Vermette trade.

Here is the updated order:

1. Edmonton Oilers

2. Buffalo Sabres

3. Arizona Coyotes

4. Toronto Maple Leafs

5. Carolina Hurricanes

6. New Jersey Devils

7. Philadelphia Flyers

8. Columbus Blue Jackets

9. San Jose Sharks

10. Colorado Avalanche

11. Florida Panthers

12. Dallas Stars

13. Los Angeles Kings

14. Boston Bruins

15. Calgary Flames

16. Edmonton Oilers (from Pittsburgh Penguins)

17. Winnipeg Jets

18. Ottawa Senators

19. Detroit Red Wings

20. Minnesota Wild

21. Buffalo Sabres (from New York Islanders)

22. Washington Capitals

23. Vancouver Canucks

24. Toronto Maple Leafs (from Nashville Predators)

25. Winnipeg Jets (from St. Louis Blues via Buffalo Sabres)

26. Montreal Canadiens

27. Anaheim Ducks

28. Tampa Bay Lightning (from New York Rangers)

29. Philadelphia Flyers (from Tampa Bay Lightning)

30. Arizona Coyotes (from Chicago Blackhawks)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.