Skip to main content


2011 Minnesota Mr. Hockey candidates announced

by Mike G. Morreale /
The top 10 candidates for the 2011 Mr. Hockey Award for the state of Minnesota were announced on Wednesday afternoon.

They include Josh Archibald (Brainerd High School), Ben Bahe (Hill-Murray), Jon Brodzinski (Blaine High School), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata High School), Patrick Daly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Max Everson (Edina High School), Steven Fogarty (Edina High School), Garrett Hendrickson (Virginia High School), Joe LaBate (Academy of Holy Angels) and Kyle Rau (Eden Prairie High School).

Rau (Minnesota), Daly (Wisconsin), Everson (Harvard), Fogarty (Notre Dame), Hendrickson (St. Cloud), Archibald (Nebraska-Omaha) and Cameranesi (Minnesota-Duluth) all have college committments. Eden Prairie's Andrew Ford, and Lake of the Woods' Alex Lyon were named finalists for the Brimsek Award for the state's top senior goaltender.

The 27th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at 12:00 p.m. on March 13 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre (175 Kellogg Boulevard). The Minnesota State boys' High School Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center, March 9-12.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer Coach" of the year.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Tom Chorske (1985), George Pelawa (1986), Kris Miller (1987), Larry Olimb (1988), Trent Klatt (1989), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Brian Bonin (1992), Nick Checco (1993), Mike Crowley (1994), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Dave Spehar (1996), Aaron Miskovich (1997), John Pohl (1998), Jeff Taffe (1999), Paul Martin (2000), Marty Sertich (2001), Gino Guyer (2002), Nate Dey (2003), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Brian Lee (2005), David Fischer (2006), Ryan McDonagh (2007), Aaron Ness (2008), Nick Leddy (2009) and Nick Bjugstad (2010).
View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.