Skip to main content

2010 Olympic ice hockey on-ice officials announced @NHLdotcom
With 68 days left to the XXI Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, the International Ice Hockey Federation announced the on-ice officials who will work the men's and women's Olympic ice hockey tournaments.

Leading the list is Canadian Bill McCreary, the dean of NHL referees, who is going to his third Olympic tournament. The 54-year old Guelph, Canada native officiated in Nagano 1998 where he called the gold medal game between the Czech Republic and Russia (1-0). He also officiated the gold medal game four years later in Salt Lake City, Canada – United States (5-2).

The men's tournament will be called by 14 referees (seven from NHL) and 14 linesmen (six from NHL). NHL referees have been part of the Olympic on-ice officials' crews since Nagano 1998.

Danny Kurmann (Switzerland) is also going to his third Olympics. For Dennis LaRue (USA) it will be even his fourth Olympics. They both worked in Salt Lake City 2002 and Turin 2006 while LaRue also officiated in Calgary 1988. Canadian Marc Joannette (NHL) officiated at the 1997 IIHF World Championship in Finland. He was at that time an IIHF referee.

Vancouver 2010 will be the first Olympic ice hockey event where the men's tournament will be officiated with the four-man system. The women’s games will be officiated with one referee, and two linesmen.

The women's tournament includes six referees and nine linesmen. British referee Joy Tottman and Swedish linesman Annica Floedén are returnees from Turin 2006.

The Olympic ice hockey tournament in Vancouver is played according to the IIHF Rule Book, on a North American rink surface (Canada Hockey Place and UBC Thunderbird Arena).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.