Skip to main content

10 finalists named for Hobey Baker Award @NHLdotcom
Three players selected in the NHL Draft are among the 10 finalists for the 2011 Hobey Baker Award.

The award, presented annually to the best player among the 58 NCAA Division I teams, will be presented April 8 at Xcel Energy Center, during the NCAA Frozen Four.

Among the finalists are Boston College right wing Cam Atkinson, a 2008 sixth-round pick of the Columbus Blue Jackets; Maine center Gustav Nyquist, a 2008 fourth-round pick of the Detroit Red Wings; and Wisconsin defenseman Justin Schultz, a 2008 second-round choice of the Anaheim Ducks.

Schultz's 18 goals are the most by a college defenseman in eight years, and his 47 points are six more than the next highest-scoring collegiate blueliner.

Atkinson led the Eagles and was third in the NCAA with 28 goals, and also scored a team-best 48 points in 36 games.

Nyquist, a finalist for last season's award, leads Maine with 51 points in 36 games. He's fourth in the NCAA with 33 assists.

Other finalists are Miami forwards Carter Camper and Andy Miele, Minnesota-Duluth forward Jack Connolly, North Dakota forward Matt Frattin, RPI forward Chase Polacek, New Hampshire forward Paul Thompson and Niagara forward Paul Zanette.

The 10 finalists were selected by voting from all 58 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting at The 23-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting (at from March 18-27) will determine this year's Hobey Baker winner.

Criteria for the award include: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.