Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Super Swede honoured

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs
Mats Sundin was honoured.

Graig Abel Photography

Mat Sundin had what was arguably his best season and his accomplishment was recognized with a second team all-star designation at the Thursday night's NHL awards presentation.

It was the first time in 22 years that a Leaf was recognized as a first or second team all-star. The last player to do was Borje Salming, who was hero to Sundin while he was growing up. Salming was given the honour as a second-team defenceman back in 1979-80.

The Leafs Captain received 21 of the 60 first-place votes and finished with 160 points. The Colorado Avalanche's Joe Sakic was first team all-star, 33 points ahead of Sundin. In his eighth seasons with the Leaf Sundin also finished eighth for the Hart Trophy as the league's MVP.

Other Leafs were up for awards as well.

Bryan McCabe finished 15th in all-star voting among defenceman with four votes while teammate Tomas Kaberle was 21st with one. McCabe also finished 14th for the Norris Trophy, for top blueliner.

Two Leafs were considered to be among the most gentlemanly. Kaberle and Alexander Mogilny were in the running for the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded for sportsmanship.

Kaberle finished sixth with 38 points while Mogilny was 13th with 18 points. Ron Francis of the Carolina Hurricanes won the award with 427 points.

Curtis Joseph was in the hunt for the Vezina Trophy, tying for 10th with the Boston Bruins' Byron Dafoe. Jose Theodore won the award.

Pat Quinn finished ninth in voting for the Jack Adams award for the league's top bench boss.
View More