Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Ross Named To Selection Camp

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs

RELATED: Caputi Assigned To Marlies | McKegg Named OHL Player Of The Week
VIDEO: Brad Ross Highlights | Past, Present & Future | McKegg Rookie Tourney Goal
DISCUSS IT ON:  Leafspace  |  Twitter  |  Facebook

Hockey Canada and the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) announced on Monday that Leafs prospect Brad Ross is one of the top 39 junior-aged hockey players (born in 1991 or later) that have been invited to take part in Canada’s National Junior Team selection camp, December 12-15, 2010 at the MasterCard Centre in Toronto, Ont.

Of the 39 players invited, three are returning players – Jared Cowen (Allan, Sask./Spokane, WHL), de Haan (Carp, Ont./Oshawa, OHL) and Ryan Ellis (Freelton, Ont./Windsor, OHL) helped Canada earn the silver medal at the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship in Regina and Saskatoon, Sask. Ellis also won a gold medal with Canada at the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship in Ottawa, Ont.  In addition, thirty-four of the players named to the selection camp roster were drafted in either the 2009 or 2010 NHL Entry Drafts, including eighteen first-round selections and four second-round picks.

Hockey Canada can still add additional players prior to the opening of the selection camp on December 12, in the event that NHL teams loan Canada’s National Junior Team junior-aged eligible players currently playing in the NHL.

“On behalf of Hockey Canada, we want to congratulate the players named to the camp roster today, along with their club teams, parents and minor hockey coaches that have helped them reach this level,” said Scott Salmond, Hockey Canada’s senior director of hockey operations/national teams. “As well, we would like to thank the Canadian Hockey League for its partnership and support of the Program of Excellence.”

“Thanks to Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, many of these players have already received the experience necessary to deal with high-paced international competition such as the World Juniors,” said Kevin Prendergast, Hockey Canada’s head scout of the men’s Program of Excellence. “The quality and skill of the 39 players invited to the camp next week is a testament of the hard work, commitment and development of all those involved in the Canadian minor hockey and junior hockey systems.”

Prendergast, who was named head scout in September, travelled coast to coast during the early months of the 2010-11 season, assessing players in preparation for the selection camp.

“On behalf of the Canadian Hockey League, I would like to congratulate all players who have been named to the selection camp roster,” said David Branch, president of the CHL. “This is a tremendous honour, and all have worked extremely hard to get to where they are today.”

There will be two Red-White intrasquad games (December 12, 13) and one game against the Canadian University National Team (December 14).  The team, made up of CIS players, will be representing Canada at the 2011 FISU Games in January 2011. 

Once the final roster is named at the conclusion of the selection camp in Toronto on December 15, Canada’s National Junior Team will play in three pre-competition games in southern Ontario prior to the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship, December 26 to January 5 in Buffalo, N.Y. 

Canada will play its first game of the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship on Boxing Day, December 26 versus Russia, a game that will be broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS and on The FAN Radio Network (check local listings).

Canada has medaled at twelve straight IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2010 and bronze medals in 2000 and 2001.

Here are the Camp Invites

JP Anderson - Mississauga St. Mike's Majors (OHL) - 2011 Draft Eligible
Calvin Pickard - Seattle Thunderbirds (WHL)
Olivier Roy - Acadie-Bathurst Titan (QMJHL)
Mark Visentin - Niagara IceDogs (OHL)

Tyson Barrie - Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
Jared Cowen* - Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
Calvin de Haan* - Oshawa General (OHL)
Simon Despres - Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
Ryan Ellis* - Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
Brandon Gormley - Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)
Erik Gudbranson - Kingston Frontenacs (OHL)
Brayden McNabb - Kootenay Ice (WHL)
Ryan Murphy - Kitchener Rangers (OHL) - 2011 Draft Eligible
Ryan Murray - Everett Silvertips (WHL) - 2011 Draft Eligible
Dylan Olsen - Minnesota-Duluth (NCAA)
Mark Pysyk - Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)

Carter Ashton - Regina Pats (WHL)
Michael Bournival - Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
Casey Cizikas - Mississauga St. Mike's Majors (OHL)
Brett Connolly - Prince George Cougars (WHL)
Sean Couturier - Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL) - 2011 Draft Eligible
Cody Eakin - Swift Current Broncos (WHL)
Marcus Foligno - Sudbury Wolves (OHL) 
Brendan Gallagher - Vancouver Giants (WHL)
Curtis Hamilton - Saskatoon Blades (WHL) 
Joey Hishon - Owen Sound Attack (OHL)
Quinton Howden - Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL) 
Ryan Howse - Chilliwack Bruins (WHL)
Ryan Johansen - Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Zack Kassian - Windsor Spitfires (OHL) 
Louis Leblanc - Montreal Juniors (QMJHL)
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins - Red Deer Rebels (WHL) - 2011 Draft Eligible
Brandon Pirri - Rockford Ice Hogs (AHL)
Brad Ross - Portland Winterhawks (WHL) - Toronto Maple Leafs
Jaden Schwartz - Colorado (WCHA)
Riley Sheahan - Notre Dame (NCAA)
Reilly Smith - Miami University (CCHA)
Linden Vey - Medicine Hat Tigers (WHL)
Garrett Wilson - Owen Sound Attack (OHL)

View More