Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Maple Leafs, ScotiaMcLeod Support the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs

Bruce Prentice, President and Chair of the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, announced Monday that both the Toronto Maple Leaf Hockey Club and ScotiaMcLeod will support the upcoming Ontario Sports Hall of Fame Induction Event and Gala. Maple Leafs Senior Vice President and General Manager Dave Nonis and Director, ScotiaMcLeod, Fred Ketchen have been appointed Co-Chairmen of the event which will take place Thursday, September 26, 2013.

"Supporting the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame in this role is certainly an honour for me," said Nonis. "This year's class of inductees is an outstanding group of sportsmen that many Ontario fans came to admire over the course of their accomplished careers. It should make for a wonderful evening."

"There are not many things in life that can produce joy, sorrow, satisfaction and despair all within a brief timeframe," said Ketchen. "Most of us experience a wide range of emotion in the sports with which we identify. We are joyful when our heroes win; we are mournful when they lose. The hours of entertainment are marked by the highs and lows of winning and losing. Whether we win or lose, we identify closely with our sports heroes and we share the same elation with those heroes when they are recognized by the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame."

"What great baseball people in Pat Gillick and George Bell, Canadian football icons Leo Cahill and Angelo Mosca, equestrian world champion Ian Millar, and one of the best all time Maple Leafs, Charlie Conacher," expressed Prentice. "Ontario sports fans should be proud that they all have contributed to sports in our province."

Other awards to be presented include; The Ontario Heritage Award to Arnold Palmer, The Brian Williams Media Award to Ralph Mellanby, The Sandy Hawley Community Service award to Dave Perkins of The Toronto Star and The Syl Apps Award as 2012 Player of the Year to Rosie McLennon.

The Induction Event takes place Thursday evening September 26 at Spirale Banquet Hall (888 Don Mills Road) with entertainment by the Brian Rose band and the Mcaughey dancers.

Special guests at the Induction Event typically include many of the past honourees such as; Johnny Bower, Bobby Baun, Russ Jackson, Fergie Jenkins, George Chuvalo, Dr. Ron Taylor, Marlene Stewart Streit, Wendel Clark, Red Kelly and other distinguished sports stars.

View More