Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Leafs Announce Opening Roster

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs
Brian Burke, president and general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs, announced Wednesday the hockey club’s roster to open the 2009-10 regular season.

The Leafs will begin the season with 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders.  Phil Kessel and Mike Van Ryn are not included as they are currently injured non roster players.

The following players were assigned to the Toronto Marlies of the American Hockey League today: forwards Tyler Bozak, Nikolai Kulemin and Jiri Tlusty, defenceman Carl Gunnarsson, and goaltender Joey MacDonald.

The Leafs will open the 2009-10 regular season on Thursday night against the Montreal Canadiens at Air Canada Centre.  Game time is 7 p.m.  The game will be televised on CBC’s Hockey Night in Canada and will be heard on the radio home of the Leafs - AM 640.

Jason Blake
Mikhail Grabovski 
Niklas Hagman
Phil Kessel*                  
Jamal Mayers                
John Mitchell                   
Colton Orr                      
Alexei Ponikarovsky        
Wayne Primeau               
Jay Rosehill                   
Viktor Stalberg                
Matt Stajan                    
Lee Stempniak               
Rickard Wallin 


Francois Beauchemin     
Garnet Exelby        
Jeff Finger                    
Tomas Kaberle               
Mike Komisarek              
Luke Schenn                   
Mike Van Ryn*                
Ian White


Vesa Toskala
Jonas Gustavsson

* Injured non-roster players
View More