Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Hedman voted Norris Trophy finalist

Hedman looks to win the award given to the NHL's top defenseman for the second straight year

by Press Release /

NEW YORK (April 21, 2019) - Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks, Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for the 2018-19 James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position," the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the Norris Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be revealed Wednesday, June 19, during the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

Video: TBL@WSH: Hedman nets slick backhander for OT winner

Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
The reigning Norris Trophy winner registered 12-42-54 in 70 games as the anchor of a Lightning defense that allowed the fifth-fewest goals in the League en route to tying the NHL record for wins in one season. Hedman topped Tampa Bay blueliners in average time on ice for the sixth consecutive season (22:46) while logging a +24 rating, tied for ninth among all League defensemen. He also scored 10-plus goals for the sixth straight year, tied for the longest such streak among NHL blueliners (w/ Burns, Giordano, Oliver Ekman-Larsson and Roman Josi). The 28-year-old Ornskoldsvik, Sweden, native is a Norris Trophy finalist for the third consecutive season; he is seeking to become the first back-to-back winner of the award since Lidstrom earned three straight from 2005-06 to 2007-08 (w/ DET).

View More