Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning


by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning
It took an extra 2:55 to decide the winner of the 2007 Lightning College Hockey Classic, but when the dust settled UMass skated away with a 5-4 overtime victory against Colorado College after a three-goal second period.

It was Matt Burto’s goal with 3:05 remaining in overtime that made UMass the second champion in College Hockey Classic history.  Burto gathered a loose puck off a rebound and shot the puck past Colorado College goaltender Drew O’Connell.  Burto was named most valuable player for the tournament.

The Tigers jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the first period on goals by Jack Hillen and Eric Walsky.  The Minutemen answered back in the second period with three unanswered goals to grab a 3-2 lead.  They didn’t hold the lead for long though as Chad Rau, who was also named to the All-Tournament Team, scored for Colorado College 14 seconds later to even things up at three.

The teams exchanged goals in the third period but a winner was not decided after 60 minutes and the game went into overtime where Burto’s heroics earned UMass the upset victory.  Paul Dainton got the victory in net for the Minutemen and made 29 saves.

2007 Lightning College Hockey Classic All-Tournament Team

Chad Rau, Colorado College
Erik Condra, Notre Dame
Jimmy Kilpatrick, Colorado College

Luke Lucyk, Notre Dame
Nate Prosser, Colorado College

Mathias Lange, Rensselaer

Most Valuable Player:

Matt Burto, UMass

2007 Lightning College Hockey Tournament Champions

View More