Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Steven Stamkos nominated for Bill Masterton Trophy

Lightning captain is the Tampa Bay chapter nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2016-17 season

by Press Release / PHWA - Tampa Bay Chapter

The Tampa chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association announced today that Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos is the Tampa Bay chapter nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2016-17 season.

The Masterton Trophy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. One nominee from each team is selected by local chapters of the PHWA before the winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

Stamkos, who underwent surgery on Nov. 17, 2017, to repair a partially torn meniscus in his right knee, suffered a third long-term injury in the span of four years that forced him to miss significant time. Through four months of hard work to while rehabilitation and physical therapy, the Lightning captain has shown dedication and perseverance to work his way back to full health once again from a potentially devastating injury.

"It's an honor for (the PHWA) to recognize the hard work and dedication for a lot of the stuff that people don't really see on an everyday basis,'' Stamkos said on being nominated. "I know the (media) get a chance to see it more than others, but in looking at this group that we have in (Tampa Bay) and around the league to see the other guys who are nominated, to see the correlation between those guys and the work ethic they have, how they continue to be pros, it's definitely an honor.''

John Cullen is the only Lightning player to win the Masterton Trophy when he was voted the winner in 1999.

About the Masterton Trophy: The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game. It was first awarded following the 1967-68 regular season

About the PHWA: Established in 1967, the Professional Hockey Writers' Associate is comprised of members of the hockey writing media from around North America and Europe. There are 31 chapters within the PHWA, one from each NHL city as well as an International chapter. 

View More