Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Stamkos Set To Take The Stage In Las Vegas At NHL Awards

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos will hit the stage tonight when the NHL Awards show takes to the Encore Theater at the Wynn Las Vegas. The show will air live starting at 7 p.m. on the NBC Sports Network. Stamkos has already secured the Maurice “Rocket” Richard (REE-shard) Trophy as the NHL’s top goal-scorer following his 60-goal season. He is also nominated for the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award.

This is Stamkos’ first time being nominated for the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season. This season’s other nominees are Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers. Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks took home the trophy in 2010-11.

Stamkos secured the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the NHL’s top goal-scorer following his 60-goal season.

Stamkos is also nominated for the Ted Lindsay Award, presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL as voted on by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players Association. The other nominees are also Malkin and Lundqvist. The winner in 2010-11 was Daniel Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks.

In 2011-12, Stamkos became the first player since 2007-08 to score 60 goals in a season, making him the 20th player all-time to reach the plateau. He is one of seven players all-time to record two 50-goal seasons prior to his 23rd birthday. The most recent player to win the Hart Memorial Trophy as league MVP without making the playoffs was Pittsburgh’s Mario Lemieux in 1987-88. Stamkos’ season speaks for itself and his importance to the Lightning is apparent. He accounted for 26 percent of the Bolts’ total offense with 60 of the team’s 232 goals. Stamkos also led the NHL with 12 game-winning goals and set a league record with five overtime winners.

Martin St. Louis is the only player in Lightning history to win both the Hart Trophy and the Lindsay Award (then known as the Lester B. Pearson Award). He took home both honors in 2004.

View More