Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Several Lightning players honored by The Hockey News

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

The Hockey News recently published their 2013-14 List Issue. While we wait for the NHL Awards in June here is a quick rundown of where the Lightning ranked in a variety of categories in the magazine.

Patrick Roy Award - Best Goalie

Winner: Tuukka Rask (Boston)

Runners Up: Ben Bishop (Tampa Bay), Semyon Varlamov (Colorado), Carey Price (Montreal), Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus)

John Ferguson Award – Toughest Player:

Winner: Zdeno Chara (Boston)

Runners Up: David Backes (St. Louis), Radko Gudas (Tampa Bay), Shea Weber (Nashville), Milan Lucic (Boston)

Teemu Selanne Award – Best Rookie

Winner: Nathan MacKinnon

Runners Up: Ondrej Palat (Tampa Bay), Torey Krug (Boston), Jacob Trouba (Winnipeg), Olli Maatta (Pittsburgh)

Cam Neely Award – Breakout Player

Winner: Ben Bishop (Tampa Bay)

Runners Up; Ryan Johansen (Columbus), Tyler Seguin (Dallas), Kyle Okposo (NY Islanders), Gustav Nyquist (Detroit)

Guy Carbonneau Award – Top Penalty Killer

Winner: Sean Couturier (Philadelphia)

Runners Up: Patrice Bergeron (Boston), Tomas Plekanec (Montreal), Tyler Johnson (Tampa Bay), Adam Henrique (New Jersey)

Gilles Villemure Award – Best Shootout Goalie

Winner: Marc-Andre Fleury (Pittsburgh)

Runners Up: Tim Thomas (Florida/Dallas), Martin Jones (Los Angeles), Ben Bishop (Tampa Bay), Eddie Lack (Vancouver)

Top 5 Single Game Performances

#3 – Kristers Gudlevskis’ 55-save performance for Latvia against Canada at the Winter Olympics.

Top 5 Jerseys
  1. Montreal Canadiens (home)
  2. Chicago Blackhawks (home)
  3. Detroit Red Wings (home)
  4. Dallas Stars (home)
  5. Tampa Bay Lightning (home)
View More