Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Recapping the top 10 moments of the 2010s

We take a look at some of the Lightning's best moments from the last decade

by Jacob Lynn @TBLightning /

1. Bolts advance to Stanley Cup Finals with a Game 7 shutout of Rangers
The Lightning secured the franchise's second berth in the Stanley Cup Finals with a 2-0 win over the Rangers at Madison Square Garden on May 29, 2015. Alex Killorn scored the game-winner early in the third period and Ben Bishop secured his second Game 7 shutout of the 2015 playoffs.

2. A new era begins under Vinik's leadership
Jeff Vinik bought the Lightning on February 5, 2010. Since becoming the team's owner, the Lightning have made the playoffs six times, advanced to the Eastern Conference Finals four times and made an appearance in the Stanley Cup Final. Off the ice, the Viniks have donated nearly $20 million dollars to different nonprofits in the Greater Tampa Bay Area through the Community Heroes Program.

Video: Lightning Celebrate Coburn's First Club Goal

3. Coburn, Bishop lead Lightning to Game 7 victory vs. Wings
After a third period rally in Game 6 extended the Lightning's first round series vs. the Red Wings in 2015, Braydon Coburn scored the second playoff goal of his career in the third period to give the Lightning the lead. Ben Bishop was stellar in goal for Tampa Bay, stopping all 31 shots he faced to help the Lightning advance to the second round with a 2-0 win. 

4. The Lightning lock up The Captain
The summer of 2016 was highlighted by speculation that Steven Stamkos would leave Tampa Bay and sign elsewhere when he became an unrestricted free agent on July 1. Stamkos ended all doubt two days before the start of free agency when he signed an eight-year, $68 million contract to remain the Lightning's captain.  

5. A Game 7 win in Pittsburgh
Trailing Pittsburgh 3-1 in their Eastern Conference Quarterfinals series in 2011, the Lightning rallied with back-to-back wins to force a Game 7. In that winner-take-all game on April 27, Sean Bergenheim scored the lone goal and Dwayne Rolloson made 36 saves as the Bolts advanced to the next round to face the Bruins. It would be the first of three shutout victories in Game 7s for the Lightning in the decade.

Watch: Stamkos' 60th goal

6. Stamkos reaches 60 goals
Steven Stamkos won the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy following the 2011-2012 season after leading the NHL with 60 goals. His reached the 60-goal mark on the final day of the year, scoring early in the third period in the season finale in Winnipeg. Stamkos' 60 goals that season were the most of any player in the League in the decade.

7. The 62nd Win
The Lightning capped the best regular season in franchise history with a win over the Bruins on April 6, 2019. It was Tampa Bay's 62nd win of the season, matching the 1995-96 Red Wings' record for the most regular season victories. Six different Bolts scored in the game and Eddie Pasquale recorded the second win of his career in goal.

8. Bolts acquire Callahan in deal with Rangers
On March 5, 2014 the Lightning made one of the biggest trades in franchise history, sending Martin St. Louis to the Rangers in exchange for Ryan Callahan and a pair of draft picks. The trade paid off for the Bolts, with Callahan spending the next six years in Tampa Bay recording 132 points and providing veteran leadership.

9. Cleaning up at the NHL Awards
Nikita Kucherov, Victor Hedman and Andrei Vasilevskiy all took home hardware from the NHL Awards. Following a 63-point season in 2017-18, Hedman became the first Bolt to win the Norris Trophy as the NHL's top defensemen. After leading the League with 39 wins in 2018-19, Andrei Vasilevskiy became the first Lightning goaltender to be awarded the Vezina Trophy. That same year, Kucherov was earned the Hart and Art Ross Trophies after setting a new record for points in a season by a Russian-born player with 128.

Video: Victor Hedman is awarded the Norris Trophy

10. Honoring franchise greats
Martin St. Louis and Vincent Lecavalier became the first two players to have their numbers retired by the franchise. The Bolts retired St. Louis' number 26 in a pregame ceremony on January 13, 2017 and then sent Lecavalier's number 4 to the rafters on February 10, 2018. 

Honorable Mention:

  • Hosting 2018 NHL All Star Weekend
  • Tyler Johnson's game-winning goal 1.1 seconds remaining in 2015 Second Round Game 3 vs. Montreal
  • Bolts rally late to defeat Red Wings in OT in 2015 First Round Game 4
View More