Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Quick Hits: Frozen Four Edition

by Dan Marrazza / Tampa Bay Lightning

Tournament History...

The University of Michigan's nine NCAA championships are more than any other school.

Michigan was the first-ever NCAA champions in 1948.

Michigan head coach Vic Heyliger's six NCAA championships are more than any other head coach in history 18 different schools have won NCAA championships.

Nine different states have had schools win NCAA championships.

Colorado Springs, Colorado has hosted the Frozen Four 11 times, which is more than any other city.

Ferris State...

This is Ferris State's first trip to the Frozen Four.

Ice Hockey is the only sport in which Ferris State competes at the D-1 level.

Ferris State doesn't have any players who were drafted by NHL teams.

Prior to this year, 2003 was Ferris State's only trip to the NCAA tournament.

Union College...

This is Union College's first trip to the Frozen Four at the D-1 level.

Union College was in the D-III Frozen Four in 1984 and 1985.

Boston College...

Boston College has won two of the last four NCAA championships.

Boston College has won four NCAA championships in team history: 1949, 2001, 2008 and 2010.

This is Boston College's 23rd trip to the Frozen Four; 2012 was its 31st NCAA tournament.

University of Minnesota...

University of Minnesota has won five NCAA titles: 1974, 1976, 1979, 2002 and 2003.

2012 is Minnesota's 20th Frozen Four; 2012 was Minnesota's 33rd NCAA tournament.

Herb Brooks coached Minnesota to the NCAA title in 1974, 1976 and 1979.

View More