Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning


by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning
NEW YORK -- Right wing Jaromir Jagr of the New York Rangers, goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff of the Calgary Flames and center Joe Thornton of the San Jose Sharks have been voted finalists for the Hart Trophy as League MVP as the NHL announced today the nominees for eight annual awards.

Kiprusoff and Thornton received their first career Hart Trophy nominations, Jagr his sixth. Four players are nominees for multiple awards; Jagr and Thornton also are finalists for the Lester B. Pearson Award, Kiprusoff for the Vezina Trophy, and Washington Capitals rookie left wing Alexander Ovechkin is a finalist for the Calder Trophy and the Pearson Award.

The winners will be announced Thursday, June 22 during the 2006 NHL Awards Television Special in Vancouver (CBC, 8 p.m., ET).

All voting is conducted at the conclusion of the regular season. The Professional Hockey Writers' Association votes for five trophies (Hart, Norris, Selke, Calder and Lady Byng). The NHL General Managers vote for the Vezina Trophy. Members of the National Hockey League Players' Association select the Lester B. Pearson Award winner and the NHL Broadcasters' Association votes on the Jack Adams Award. Results are tabulated by the accounting firm Ernst & Young.

Following are the finalists for each trophy, in alphabetical order:

CALDER MEMORIAL TROPHY (outstanding rookie): Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals; Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames.

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (outstanding defensive forward): Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes; Mike Fisher, Ottawa Senators; Jere Lehtinen, Dallas Stars.

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (most valuable player to his team): Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers; Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames; Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks.

JACK ADAMS AWARD (outstanding coach): Peter Laviolette, Carolina Hurricanes; Tom Renney, New York Rangers; Lindy Ruff, Buffalo Sabres.

JAMES NORRIS MEMORIAL TROPHY (outstanding defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings; Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Mighty Ducks; Sergei Zubov, Dallas Stars.

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct): Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings; Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks; Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning.

LESTER B. PEARSON AWARD (most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA): Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers; Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals; Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks.

VEZINA TROPHY (outstanding goaltender): Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils; Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames; Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers.
View More