Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning’s Yzerman Voted General Manager of the Year

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

Steve Yzerman of the Tampa Bay Lightning is the 2014-15 winner of the NHL General

Manager of the Year Award. Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 Club General

Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the

Second Round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

After leading Tampa Bay to the Conference Finals in 2010-11 , his first season in charge,

Yzerman oversaw the rebuild to a roster that returned to the final four with just two holdovers

from the 2011 squad, cornerstone center Steven Stamkos and defenseman Victor Hedman.

Bolstered by key acquisitions through the draft (Nikita Kucherov, Ondrej Palat), via free

agency (Brian Boyle, Valtteri Filppula, Tyler Johnson, Anton Stralman) and trades (Ben

Bishop, Ryan Callahan, Braydon Coburn, Jason Garrison), the Lightning set franchise

records with 50 wins and 108 points during the regular season. They also led the League with

262 goals and 32 home wins.

201 4-201 5 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)

1. Steve Yzerman, TBL 80 (9-10-5)

2. Glen Sather, NYR 49 (7-3-5)

3. Bob Murray, ANA 36 (3-6-3)

4. Bryan Murray, OTT 32 (5-1 -4)

5. Garth Snow, NYI 28 (3-3-4)

6. David Poile, NSH 24 (2-4-2)

7. Kevin Cheveldayoff, WPG 19 (2-2-3)

8. Chuck Fletcher, MIN 19 (1 -3-5)

9. Brad Treliving, CGY 15 (3-0-0)

10. Stan Bowman, CHI 13 (1 -2-2)

11. Brian MacLellan, WSH 11 (1 -2-0)

12. Ken Holland, DET 5 (0-1 -2)

13. Jim Benning, VAN 1 (0-0-1)

Marc Bergevin, MTL 1 (0-0-1)

NHL General Manager of the Year Award Winners

Year Winner Team

2015 Steve Yzerman Tampa Bay

2014 Bob Murray Anaheim

2013 Ray Shero Pittsburgh

2012 Doug Armstrong St. Louis

2011 Mike Gillis Vancouver

2010 Don Maloney Phoenix

View More