Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning Unveil 'Alumni Almanac, Presented By Bright House Networks'

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

The Tampa Bay Lightning today announced the list of the Top 20 hockey personnel in franchise history that will be honored as the Alumni Almanac, presented by Bright House Networks, during the 2012-13 season. The list was compiled from fan votes at during the offseason.


The list consists of 14 skaters, two goaltenders and four non-players, consisting of coaches and managers. Of the skaters, three of them are current Lightning players. Those are Martin St. Louis, Vincent Lecavalier and Steven Stamkos. Of all the players on the list, Lecavalier has the most goals, assists, points and games played. The youngest player is Stamkos, a former first-overall pick, at 22-years-old. Stamkos is additionally one of three players who were originally first overall selections in the NHL Entry Draft, along with Tampa Bay’s first-ever draft pick, Roman Hamrlik, and Vincent Lecavalier. Of the 16 players, 10 of them were part of the Lightning’s 2004 Stanley Cup Championship team. The goalies selected are Daren Puppa, who backstopped the Bolts to their first playoff appearance, as well as Nikolai Khabibulin, who led the Lightning to the 2004 Stanley Cup.

In the non-player category, the four men selected represent two different eras in Lightning hockey. The first two come from the beginning of the franchise. The first is the man who brought the Lightning to Tampa Bay, Hockey Hall-of-Famer and founder Phil Esposito, who now serves as a vice president and radio analyst for the team. The other is the team’s original coach, Terry Crisp, who coached the team from 1992 through 1998. The remaining two played key roles in the Lightning’s Stanley Cup and Southeast Division Championships. Jay Feaster served as general manager of the Lightning from 2001-08 after relieving Rick Dudley. Feaster currently holds the same position with the Calgary Flames. The final selection is John Tortorella who coached the Lightning for six seasons from 2001-08 and is the franchise’s all-time leader in wins with 239. He is currently the head coach of the New York Rangers.

Through the process, fans had the ability to cast their votes for their favorite players, coaches and general managers spanning the team’s entire history. They were able to choose from nearly 50 of the best from the Bolts’ 20 seasons. Those players that were voted in will be featured on the new, $5 million LightningVision center-hung video display board and in arena during the 2012-13 season.

Fans can still visit to see the entire list that will be honored during the upcoming season and share their own favorite personnel and moments on their Facebook wall. They can also submit their own video memories by answering the question “What does 20 Years of Thunder Mean to You”. The top submissions will be featured on the site and on LightningVision during select home games.

The Best of the Bolts – The Personnel


Jersey #Pos.NameTenure with LightningGPGAP

25LWDave Andreychuk2001-20062786861129

22DDan Boyle2001-200839466187253

19CBrian Bradley1992-1998328111189300

17RWRuslan Fedotenko2002-20073137470144

44DRoman Hamrlik1992-199837752133185

13DPavel Kubina1997-2006, 2010-201266272171243

8, 4 CVincent Lecavalier1998-present998373469842

33LWFredrik Modin1999-2006445145141286

19CBrad Richards2000-2008552150339489

26RWMartin St. Louis2000-present862319513832

91CSteven Stamkos2008-present325179150329

27CTim Taylor2001-2007365233861

15RWPaul Ysebaert1994-19992154266108

7LWRob Zamuner1992-199947584116200


Jersey #Pos.NameTenure with LightningGPW-L-OTGAASV%

35GNikolai Khabibulin2000-200419283-74-282.390.914

93GDaren Puppa1993-200020677-91-262.680.905


TitleNameTenure with Lightning

Head CoachTerry Crisp1992-1998

Founder/General ManagerPhil Esposito1992-1999

General ManagerJay Feaster2001-2008

Head CoachJohn Tortorella2001-2008

View More