Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning High School Hockey League registration opens July 1

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

TAMPA BAY – The Tampa Bay Lightning today announced that registration for the Lightning High School Hockey League (LHSHL) will open on July 1 for the 2015-16 season.

All interested high school players freshmen through senior can register for the 2015-16 LHSHL season by visiting the league’s new website at beginning on July 1. All registered players will be given the opportunity to make either their varsity or junior varsity team through a try out process for the school they are zoned for.

The Lightning will now be responsible for all aspects of high school hockey in the region including admitting teams to the LHSHL, registering players, scheduling practice ice and games, securing on-ice officials, administering supplemental discipline, conducting championship playoffs and All-Star game(s), and overseeing all aspects of LHSHL operations.

Teams participating in the inaugural season of the LHSHL are: Berkeley, Bloomingdale, Countryside, East Lake, East Manatee, Freedom, George Jenkins, Jesuit, Mitchell, Newsome, Palm Harbor, Plant, River Edge, Sarasota, Seminole, Steinbrenner, Wharton and Wiregrass. Players that do not attend one of these schools may still register and will be assigned to a school in their appropriate zone.

View More