Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning High School Hockey League registration now open

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

TAMPA BAY - The Lightning High School Hockey League (LHSHL) today announced that registration for the 2016-17 season is now open.

All interested high school boys and girls, grades 9-12, can register for the 2016-17 LHSHL season by visiting the league’s website at Registration for returning players closes on August 5. All registered players will be given the opportunity to make either their varsity squad or a developmental team through a try out process for the school they are zoned for.

Teams participating in the LHSHL are: Berkeley, Bloomingdale, Countryside, East Lake, East Manatee, Freedom, George Jenkins, Jesuit, Mitchell, Newsome, Palm Harbor, Plant, River Edge, Sarasota, Seminole, Steinbrenner, Wharton and Wiregrass. Players that do not attend one of these schools may still register and will be assigned to a school in their appropriate zone.

The LHSHL plans on adding a new team representing the West Manatee area for the 2016-17 season. It will be comprised of Manatee, Bayshore, Southeast and Braden River High Schools.

The teams will again play a 22-game regular season that begins on September 9 and concludes on February 3. Most games take place on Friday nights at the Brandon Ice Sports Forum, Ellenton Ice and Sports Complex, Tampa Bay Skating Academy or Clearwater Ice Arena. The Tampa Bay and the LHSHL will be hosting this year’s SAHOF State High School Championships from February 23-26, 2017.

The Lightning are responsible for all aspects of high school hockey in the region including admitting teams to the LHSHL, registering players, scheduling practice ice and games, securing on-ice officials, administering supplemental discipline, conducting championship playoffs and All-Star game(s), and overseeing all aspects of LHSHL operations.

View More