Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning


by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

NEW YORK (Jan. 13, 2007) -- Veteran All-Star goaltender Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils heads the list of 15 players added to the Eastern Conference roster for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game, Wednesday, Jan. 24 at American Airlines Center in Dallas (8 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NHL Radio).

Brodeur will be making his ninth career All-Star Game appearance, fourth on the all-time goaltenders list behind Glenn Hall (13), Terry Sawchuk (11) and Patrick Roy (11). Entering the contest with a 3-1 record in his eight All-Star Game appearances, Brodeur could match Hall's record total of four career victories.

The 34-year-old Montreal native is enjoying another superb season, leading the League in victories (26), shutouts (seven), minutes (2,524) and shots faced (1,187), ranking second in goals-against average (2.07) and third in save percentage (.927). Brodeur has moved into second place on the League's all-time victories list with 472, passing Terry Sawchuk and Ed Belfour since the start of the season, and has jumped to third on the all-time shutouts list with 87, passing Alex Connell, Tiny Thompson, Jacques Plante and Glenn Hall.

Also selected to the Eastern Conference roster were five players making their All-Star Game debut: forwards Eric Staal and Justin Williams from the Stanley Cup-champion Carolina Hurricanes, goaltender Cristobal Huet of the Montreal Canadiens, defenseman Jay Bouwmeester of the Florida Panthers and forward Jason Blake of the New York Islanders.

Others named to the Eastern Conference roster were: defensemen Brian Rafalski of the Devils, Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins and Tomas Kaberle of the Toronto Maple Leafs plus forwards Vincent Lecavalier and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Marian Hossa of the Atlanta Thrashers, Dany Heatley of the Ottawa Senators, Simon Gagne of the Philadelphia Flyers and Brendan Shanahan of the New York Rangers.

The roster additions were selected by the NHL's Hockey Operations Department, after consultation with League General Managers.

The players selected join the six players voted by the fans to the starting lineup. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, the NHL's leading vote-getter in All-Star fan balloting, is joined by forward Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, goaltender Ryan Miller, defenseman Brian Campbell and forward Daniel Briere from the Buffalo Sabres, and defenseman Sheldon Souray of the Montreal Canadiens.

The head coach of the Eastern Conference All-Stars is the Sabres' Lindy Ruff, making his second career All-Star Game appearance. Ruff's assistant is Thrashers head coach Bob Hartley.

The 2007 NHL All-Star Celebration, hosted by the American Airlines Center in Dallas, will feature live national broadcasts of the NHL YoungStars Game presented by Upper Deck and Dodge Nitro/NHL SuperSkills event on Tuesday, Jan. 23, and the NHL All-Star Game on Wednesday, Jan. 24 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN, the NHL's exclusive broadcast partner in Europe, will provide live coverage of the Dodge Nitro/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 25 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage in the United States and Canada, while Sirius Satellite Radio and XM Satellite Radio each will provide radio play-by-play coverage of the game.
View More